When is an employer required to pay overtime in California?

When is an employer required to pay overtime in California?

Under California law, employers are required to pay overtime at one and a half times an employee’s regular rate of pay for any hours worked beyond 8 in a day or 40 in a week, and for the first 8 hours worked on the seventh consecutive day of work in a workweek. An employer must pay an employee double time for all hours worked beyond 12 in a day and for all hours worked beyond 8 hours on the seventh consecutive day of work in a workweek.